Kenny White - Testing...1, 2

Kenny White
Testing...1, 2


First Appeared at The Music Box, October 2003, Volume 10, #10

Written by T.J. Simon



New York singer/songwriter/pianist Kenny White released the six-song EP Testing...1, 2 to tide over fans until he could complete his new album. Four of the tracks on the disc are live versions of numbers previously recorded on his engaging 2002 debut Uninvited Guest. The best of these are souped-up interpretations of In My Recurring Dream and Don’t Go Out Tonight, both of which feature extended instrumental interludes from White and his accomplished band. Hurry Up, Baby, the only original, previously unreleased cut, is more of the same high-quality stuff that fans have come to expect from White. Hopefully the song and its furious piano-solo ending won’t be lost to the ages as an obscure, EP-only release. The disc concludes with a fair cover of Leadbelly’s Silvie making Testing...1, 2 a decent and affordable means to whet the appetite of fans until White’s next full-length release. starstarstar ˝



1 Star: Pitiful
2 Stars: Listenable
3 Stars: Respectable
4 Stars: Excellent
5 Stars: Can't Live Without It!!


Copyright © 2003 The Music Box