Hootie & the Blowfish - Cracked Rear View

Hootie & the Blowfish
Cracked Rear View


First Appeared in The Music Box, April 1995, Volume 2, #4

Written by John Metzger


Much like Counting Crows, newcomer Hootie & the Blowfish anchors its classic pop-rock formula around the vocals of an emotionally overpowering vocalist. It's doubtful that anyone hasn't heard the band by now, but despite the wealth of attention it has received, much of its debut Cracked Rear View endures. From the opening riffs of Hannah Jane to the gut-wrenching Goodbye, the group employs an engaging set of hooks that immediately grabs hold of unsuspecting fans and never lets go. Adding a touch of gospel to its blend of folk-pop, the ensemble delivers dance-friendly gems like Only Wanna Be With You and then wears its heart on its sleeve during the heartfelt Let Her In. Consider this your annual dose of "guilty pleasure" music.


Of Further Interest...

Counting Crows - August and Everything After

O.A.R. - Risen

Toad the Wet Sprocket - In Light Syrup


Cracked Rear View is available from Barnes & Noble.
To order, Click Here!



1 Star: Pitiful
2 Stars: Listenable
3 Stars: Respectable
4 Stars: Excellent
5 Stars: Can't Live Without It!!


Copyright 1995 The Music Box